“What do you want, a medal?” “yes.”

I am writing a PhD

 

I am writing a PhD

 

57 more than 23*,

 

that is a lot of words you see,

 

Spending lots of time in the library

 

Sometimes going a little crazy

 

People people everywhere

 

But not a one to talk to,

 

I’m not cut out to be alone

 

For days on end, just me, my phone

 

and my laptop, my most intimate friend

 

Oh one day this PhD will end…

 

I am writing a PhD

 

I am writing a PhD

 

“What do you want, a medal?”

 

“Yes.

 

Please.”

 

In the above image of the medal I should be given, the woman is me, the tablet with words on is my thesis and the unicorn thing is my talisman of strength and good word-writing skills. The rocks represent the weight of the task and the mountains the classic image of struggle and consequential great views / achievement.

 

NB. relatively I have got it pretty cushy, I am always in absolute awe of folk I know who are doing PhDs and full time jobs and being parents and playing in bands and cooking great food and making films etc etc, so I don’t really deserve a medal, I’m just nearly at the end and am an over-sharer.

 

 

*thousand words

Leave a Reply

